Article wallpaper
Home BlogToken Standards Overview: ERC-20, ERC-721, ERC-1155

Token Standards Overview: ERC-20, ERC-721, ERC-1155

Filipp, Chief Technology Officer

4 min

In this post, we'll delve into the description of different token standards commonly used in blockchain projects, such as ERC-20, ERC-721, ERC-1155, and more. Token standards provide a set of rules and guidelines for creating and managing tokens on blockchain platforms, ensuring interoperability and compatibility. 

Standards in detail

  • ERC-20: is the most widely adopted token standard on the Ethereum blockchain. It defines a set of rules that enable the creation of fungible tokens. Fungible tokens are identical and interchangeable, meaning each token holds the same value as every other token of the same type. ERC-20 tokens are commonly used for initial coin offerings (ICOs) and as utility tokens within decentralized applications.
  • ERC-721: also known as the Non-Fungible Token (NFT) standard, revolutionized the concept of digital ownership and collectibles. Unlike ERC-20 tokens, each ERC-721 token is unique and cannot be exchanged on a one-to-one basis. This uniqueness allows for the representation of digital assets like artwork, virtual real estate, and in-game items.
  • ERC-1155: is a hybrid token standard that combines the features of both ERC-20 and ERC-721. It allows for the creation of both fungible and non-fungible tokens within the same smart contract. This standard provides more flexibility for developers to design complex ecosystems where both types of tokens can coexist.
  • Other Token Standards: in addition to ERC standards, there are various token standards specific to different blockchain platforms. For example, Binance Smart Chain has BEP-20 tokens, and Solana has SPL tokens. Each standard has its own set of specifications and functionality tailored to its respective blockchain ecosystem.

Functionality and Applications:

Different token standards offer specific functionalities that cater to various use cases. For instance, ERC-20 tokens facilitate token transfers, fundraising, and governance within decentralized applications. ERC-721 tokens enable the creation and trading of unique digital assets. ERC-1155 tokens provide a versatile solution for managing both fungible and non-fungible tokens within a single contract.

Practical Advice:

When choosing a token standard for your project, consider the specific requirements and objectives you aim to achieve. Research the strengths and limitations of each standard and assess how well they align with your project's needs. Additionally, take into account the compatibility of the token standard with existing wallets, exchanges, and infrastructure to ensure seamless integration.

Understanding token standards is crucial for developers, entrepreneurs, and investors venturing into the blockchain space. By selecting the appropriate token standard, projects can leverage the capabilities of the underlying blockchain and build innovative decentralized applications. Stay tuned for more insights into the world of blockchain and cryptocurrencies!

Share post with:

More articles